Cascais, Portugal

So tonight is my last night in Cascais. It’s been pretty nice. I haven’t ever really just picked one spot to stay in for four nights, but it was pretty cool to just relax for a few days. I am definitely ready to move on though.

I spent the last two days riding a bike along the coastal bike path to Guincho beach where the mens professional surfing competition was taking place. I would sit on a sand dune and watch for a bit then make my way back. The waves are massive, and since I have never watched surfing before, I didn’t really know what was going on.  But was still worth going. The people at the hostel are really nice. There is little Daniel, an Italian  guy who practices his harmonica and plays the guitar when he’s not busy cooking food and cleaning the hostel.  Then there’s big Daniel who isn’t big at all. He’s a very camp Australian who likes to spend his day smoking hash and drinking wine. Yesterday I recruited Daniel and a random person from the hostel to collect firewood so we could have a beach fire. Then it rained.

Today I walked around some more and took in the view since tomorrow I will jut be on my way out. The tourists are all starting to pour in, so it was nice being here during a slower part of the week.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

I am not one hundred percent sure of where I will go to next, but I have time to figure it out.

Oh yeah, and I got the job as a chalet host! I am not even on the standby list either. So I had to print out my contract at the hostel (all twenty five pages…oops) and sign and mail it back to Godalming. I think running errands in a different country is much more fun. And the Portuguese post office is so much better than royal mail..I think that’s saying something..

Anyway
The chalet I will be working at is called Marmot, and it is located in Flaine, France. The chalet company that owns it is called Ski Total. This is all the information you need to look it up dad.

There was a different company I was hoping to hear from, but they have only just started their recruitment.  The one I wanted to work at is in Chamonix. I decided that I will agree to this job, and if I can get hired at the other one, I will just switch. But his is good news anyway! So I will be starting the twenty third of November and finish the thirtieth of April. For now, I travel!!

3 thoughts on “Cascais, Portugal

  1. Thanks for the search keywords. Looks like you are are going to have to like snow and skiers for a few months. With your smile you’ll have them at hello.
    Great photos from the coast

Leave a Reply

