Pebbles in the Shower

I have really enjoyed my stay here in Interlaken. Yes, the city is completely dead, but I have fully enjoyed eating breakfast and heading to the trail. Everyday.

Except yesterday. The forecast was for cloud and rain all day so this was my exercise.

image

What does half a day of hiking and thirty minutes on the track have in common? Absolutley nothing. Back in the day I used to glide. Now I’m like a block of Swiss cheese being pushed along a grater. Just kidding it wasn’t THAT bad. I couldn’t engage my core when sprinting.  Today, it let me know that I did something though.

After my morning sprint session, I took the bus into Thun.

image

Of course I went to the castle. And of course I had coffee and cake. I have a free bus card from the hostel so I may as well use it. And the bus ride there was a winding road on the side of the lake going through massive tunnels.

Today I did my last hike 😣 I went around the back of harder kulm, and back the way I came exempt the way back I stuck to the main road because I just wanted a different route.

image

image

image

I got picked up by an old man in a fancy BMW and drove me to the bottom of the mountain. ..at top speed. And I was back at the trailhead where I started.

image

It was very casual, like it was his job to just pick up hikers.  And he was blasting a track that is killing me I can’t remember.  But it’s one of the classic Sunday Alton outdoor music tracks with the epic chorus. Winding down the mountain  along all the waterfalls and blue skies and trees. So great.

I walked into the center of town a d sat on a bench and watched the paragliders land and fold up there chutes.  And ate all of my chocolate.  It was so great.

image

Then I went back to the hostel and made lunch and took another how shower. And my shoes came with me. Now they are pretty again.

Did I mention the hostel has a great breakfast with view of the mountains?

image

image

That’s not a great pic of the mountain. But it’s basically 360  views. Gotta love rooftop patios.
Anyway, after my lunch, I went back to the same spot just to be outside and relax.

image

I love this place.

Returned to he hostel, made a massive dinner because I forgot I had 3/4 of a bag of frozen broccoli, a leek, a bunch of shallots, and a chicken breast to be used up. Yum. I was almost on my way out to go pay a ridiculous amount of money for coffee, but I sat and talked with some Aussies.

I think I will leave fairly early tomorrow to spend some time in Bern, then go down to Lausanne where I will stay until my flight on Monday. This will be my first time couchsurfing since I refuse to spend anymore money on pricey hostels.  It’s going to be fun!!

3 thoughts on “Pebbles in the Shower

Leave a Reply

