Moving to the Alps.

Before I start this post, I want to say a few things about the recent loss of an amazing member of the family. Jeremy, what an honor I have  had meeting you and Marie this year. The amount of generosity I received  from you has made my adventure so worth while. You are so kind, and have a great knowledge of your country and so much inspiration to see all of it. Thank you for being a part of my life. ❤

I may as well make a start on this post. And work on it in between breaks. This post may have absolutley no chronological order. So let’s start with the present. 

I just pulled out my first ever attempted sticky toffee pudding out od the oven. And managed to create caramel sauce error free.

image

My spring rolls are browning in the oven.  Tomorrow we are practicing our full course Christmas dinner for lunch, and a day five four course dinner for dessert.  We are all splitting up what we cook, and it will be nice to have the kitchen to myself. And know where things are. I turn into Gordon Ramsay when I can’t find things. Or when I mess up. Fun fact, you can accidently melt a portion of your butter before you mix it with sugar and it won’t screw you over.

I had a great time in the UK. It was only two weeks, but I was quickly reintroduced to the lovely British weather.

Hang on, starters are out. Baked camembert  with garlic and thyme.

image

I was spoiled rotten by uncle Stephen and Aunt Isla. So much good food, and it was fun talking to Isla about traveling now that I can actually contribute some stories!! I shopped in deansgate for snowboarding gear, walked through the Christmas markets, and along the canal. I also hung out with connor at a pub in Chorlton.

image

image

image

I went down to Cambridge to see Lisa and  Sophie for a bit. I was hoping to pick up my bike from potters bar after but it played out gat it would be better to just leave to Newcastle from where I was.

image

I spent a fee days in Newcastle with my grandparents and met Edith and Allen, and also went on a cruise of  the town with grandad. We stopped at the Baltic and hecked out some cool art. Well some of it was nice.

image

image

image

I said my goodbyes and headed back to Chorlton  where I continued to pretend to be a snob at a coffee shop. Cafe du Chorlton.

image

I made my way down to London on Sunday, and walked through the Hyde park winter wonderland, Made a swoop through  chelsea, and sat in sloane square pondering my thoughts before I headed to Paddington station. This was all after my favorite London hobby though. Three guesses what that is.

image

image

image

The train, bus, and coach ride all went fairly smooth. I was in Les Arcs for three days sitting and looking at power point lectures about the company. The views were great!  I shared a dorm with three other girls who were all really nice and funny. Then we said our goodbyes and got on out designates coach to our destinations!

There are only six of us for the Flaine area.  Three hosts, a driver, and two reps. There are three chalets, so each of us hosts run the show.

My accommodation is pretty good for a chalet season. I have my own room and share he house with one of the reps. He gets to sleep next to the kitchen.

We walked around Flaine for a bit just to see what there is. The town is pretty much dead, but the bar opened last night so we met a few of the other workers in the area. It was good fun.

Today was training on cleaning the house. Scrubbing everything and fold iv my hospital corners on the beds. Then cooked all our food. My pudding turned out great.

image

image

image

image

I’ll have better photos of my chalet when it’s completely  set up. For now it’s just a tip!! Ready to get started. I just want to be on my own!! its going to be a lot of work!

And the croissants  are premade. All I have to do is leave them out over night the  cook in the morning.

Makes me miss the real deal.
(Brunch time- Switzerland 14′)

image

4 thoughts on “Moving to the Alps.

  1. What’s with picture no. 6? Is this you in the trash can playing the guitar or Oscar the Grouch? Enquiring minds want to know:)

  2. I have caught myself up on your blog! Katie!!!! It is amazing what a chef you have become! Your adventures and travels have me filled with envy! You seem to have grown so much and have so many great stories! I sure miss you! So proud and happy for you!

Leave a Reply

