Goodbye 2014

If there’s one word that I could use for this year, it would be “WOW”

The power of putting your mind to something and getting it done is the most rewarding feeling I have experienced. I didn’t realized how big of a rut I was in a few years ago, and I give myself a big pat on the back for getting my priorities straightened out.

Looking back a few years ago, I can remember sitting outside an ugly trailer home with an eviction notice in one hand, and a rope tied to a crippled horse in the other. I had no friends, I felt toatlly stuck on my own, and someone who I thought was my best friend was dragging me down every single day. Broken doors, walls, yelling, swearing, it became a normal thing to go through.  But whenever I actually had a moment to myself, there was that little voice in my head telling me to start over.

And I did.

I’ve met relatives that I didn’t know about, spend time with people in never had the chance to, I worked at a veterinary  university,volunteered at the world equestrian games,I have made four trips out to Europe and currently work in the French Alps.  And in the last month, I have experienced the college partying lifestyle that I never had. Hahaha

This year was just incredible. This year my grandparents reached their diamond anniversary. The two of them are such role models to me and I can’t describe how much better my life has become with spending so much time with them. I truly feel like we really know each other now.

I’m tearing up. This is hillarious.  Especially since I’m typing this from a phone.

I am also glad that this year I spent time with loved ones who are no longer with us, or I didn’t have very much contact with. My aunt and uncle have also become a huge part of my life, and also making it to simon and Anns  wedding was a big deal to me. I feel so much more involved with my family. Not just cards in the mail.

Traveling around Europe, I have met so many nice people. People who come from all different backgrounds and so many different outlooks on life. It definitely  smartened me up and made me less opinionated. Today I received a postcard from the woman that I stayed with in france for the WEG. It made my day( something needed to, I think I have broken all my bones).

To wrap up this soppy blog, I will conclude with a message for 2015:

I don’t have any resolutions, I have a to-do list, and the motivation to challenge myself in achieving it. I’m full of excitement for what this next year brings. There will be peaks and troughs, but it’s all about the journey. And I say bring it on.

image

image

2 thoughts on “Goodbye 2014

  1. I am so deeply grateful for that little voice. May she always be with you. She’s you, you know, the real Katie. Love, Mum.

Leave a Reply

