Balestrand, Norway

I was pretty quick to rename this place as Balestranded but 100 percent accurate.

Rewind the day before I left. I had a brilliant dinner with Vivienne, Allison, and Andrew at the Selfridges rooftop restaurant in London. I had walked there and back from my hostel in Pimlico, and enjoyed the last bit of England that I will be seeing for a while. 

The trip to Balestrand was fairly smooth sailing. The ferry from Bergen was a great view. I’m pretty sure I saw dolphins. Once I had arrived, Sophie was stood there waiting for me and we went straight to the Kviknes hotel for coffee. This hotel is the largest wooden Swiss style buildinds in all of Norway. The view is great. All the interior is retro seating and long hallways with a massive balcony looking out at the water.

I can sit here and have coffee for free.
There is also a buffet dinner that people pay about £60 for. I have eaten there twice now. Free. Sophie gets to eat there and the hotel staff  let me in with her.  It’s a seafood based buffet with plenty of options for meat and cheese boards, veal mains, crab, mussels, and a huge dessert table. Given my OCD behavior in the past with buffets, I do really well to stock up on protein and not get wild with dessert. Maybe except yesterday.
An example would be my salmon selection salad and Rye for starter, followed by veal, haddock, salmon, and veggies for main. The chocolate mousse didn’t get photographed.

image

image

image

We are also welcome to the breakfast buffet at the other hotel down the road. Free of charge.

image

Sophie had some important Inghams staff come visit and they gave us the fruit baskets in their hotel rooms. So we also have a massive amount of fruit in our little green shack down the road that we stay in. We have really gotten a lot done such as hiking, a road trip to Voss, and a ride on the boat that takes us quickly around the fjords. The car rental was discounted for sophie being an Inghams rep. And the boat ride was free. I think the only thing we spent money on was traveling to voss, and eating pastries at the aquarium.  We also still need to visit the famous Ciderhust  in Balestrand. Other than that,  we just sit and mad.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

I would reccomend to anyone to spend one or two days here.  Then move on. The view is spectacular and the drive to voss itself gives amazing views and so many changes in the scenery. You pass waterfalls, topless male cross county skiers, old churches, everything. But Balestrand itself can come off a bit spooky. It’s almost as if all the orchards and houses are placed there like a toy village. Spotless and empty.

Sophie is going to stick out until her first paycheck, and then abandon ship. And I fully don’t blame her at all.

image

But as I sit here in the luxurious hotel people dish out enormous amounts of money for, I am definitely ready to move on.

For not all of you that know by now, I have booked a flight to LA on August 26th. I need a break from Europe and time to prepare for more adventures in the future. It’s definitely not the end of my traveling.

Days until homecoming – 43
Countries visited – 16

Leave a Reply

